When an employee stops sending their paycheck to Palolo, this information isn't available to Palolo right away. It usually takes around one pay cycle for us to confirm that someone's direct deposit is no longer connected, during which time they may still have access to Perks they won’t be able to use fully.
If you know that an employee's direct deposit settings have been updated and no longer connected to Palolo, you can mark their paycheck as disconnected to speed up this process and ensure their Perk access is updated accordingly.
To mark an employee's paycheck as disconnected:
- Log in to Palolo HQ
- From the Home tab, use Find employee or go to All employees to find the employee, and go to their profile
- Open the Paycheck section and click Mark paycheck as disconnected at the bottom:
- Review the information in both Palolo and payroll, and check the box confirming that the employee's direct deposit settings have been updated:
- Confirm again by clicking Mark paycheck as disconnected
What happens when someone's paycheck is disconnected?
When an employee's paycheck is disconnected, their paycheck will no longer be routed to Palolo and instead will be sent to the bank account they’ve specified in your payroll system. As a result, the employee will lose full access to Perks in Palolo. They can still see their history and make outstanding payments, but won't be able to request My Pay, apply for an advance, or contribute to their savings in Palolo.
What happens if I don't mark someone's paycheck as disconnected, or are unaware that they've updated their direct deposit?
Palolo will still be able to mark them disconnected automatically, but it may take some time (usually around one pay cycle) to confirm before their status is updated in Palolo.
In rare cases, if an employee has stopped sending their paycheck to Palolo but their paycheck status has not yet updated, they could apply for an advance or request My Pay but won't be able to make repayments from their paycheck. Their advance application may be declined or they may need to manually pay back their My Pay as a result.
What happens if I accidentally mark a paycheck as disconnected?
If you accidentally mark an employee's paycheck as disconnected, they will lose full access to Perks until their paycheck is reconnected. They can reconnect by using the same paycheck connection options as before.
Can employees do this themselves?
At this time, employees aren't able to report their own paycheck as disconnected. However, they can always contact Palolo Support to do this for them.